11TEAMSPORTS sells sports and lifestyle goods at the best price

prudsys AG’s AI-based price optimization solution ensures intelligent prices for 11teamsports, both in the online shop and in store.

11teamsports - Dynamic Pricing & Markdown Pricing mit prudsys

With over 1.5 million customers, 11teamsports is one of the largest retailers for sporting goods, lifestyle products and team gear in the German-speaking area. The company was founded in 2007 and grows by approximately 20 % every year. The sporting goods retailer sells its products in the online shop as well as in 17 bricks and mortar shops in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The company has a clear vision: to keep improving financial results, remain competitive and solidify its market leadership. 11teamsports sees intelligent price control as one way of achieving these goals. In order to automate its price processes and intelligently control product prices online and in stores, 11teamsports relies on the prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (prudsys RDE) following a successful A/B test. The real-time solution is based on artificial intelligence and is in the position, depending on the objective, to increase sales, revenue or the margin.

CHALLENGE

Pricing process automation

Size-specific pricing

Increasing margins, revenue and number of orders

Optimal product pricing according to status and product life cycle

SOLUTION

prudsys RDE automatically calculates the prices of several hundred thousand items on a daily basis while taking into account many parameters

Use different pricing methods: Optimize margins and revenue as well as sell-off optimization

Up-to-date prices in online shops and bricks and mortar stores

RESULT

Automatic price calculation for over 400,000 product variants

More time for category management to make strategic price and product range decisions

Increase in margins and revenue

3 % increase in number of orders

Tim Blümel, Director of Sales at 11teamsports::

“Our price management has been very successful with prudsys and we have decided to pursue this partnership over the long term. We have been impressed with the intelligence behind the pricing solution and the professional support on the part of the prudsys project team.”

The objective

The complex objective that 11teamsports has for the prudsys RDE is made up of three aspects:

  • The sporting goods retailer seeks to intelligently control the pricing of all products, thereby increasing its margin, revenue and number of orders.
  • The company would like to fix all 400,000 variants (sizes and colors) of its 24,000 products with different prices, which requires the pricing solution to have maximum scalability.
  • 11teamsports would like to take the burden off category management: automatically pricing all products leaves more time for strategic decisions on products and product ranges.

The AI solution should be able to take various factors into account such as demand, variable inventories, brands, clicks per size or end of life cycle. 11teamsports’ requirement was to find a pricing strategy that forced the sale of products while keeping the margin in clear focus.

The solution

The prudsys RDE automatically adapts the prices of the 400,000 product variants to all relevant contextual conditions on a daily basis. Real-time tracking ensures that the demand is measured on the product level and included in the price calculation. This way, the prudsys RDE can predict out-of-stock situations in a timely manner and take this into consideration in the pricing process.
Product life cycle represents the particular challenge in price calculation. At the beginning of the life cycle the prudsys RDE optimizes prices primarily for margin and revenue. As it nears the end of the life cycle, the sell-off method takes effect, focussing on gross profit absorption. The challenge: Some products are only in the range for a few months, others for up to three years. The prudsys RDE manages a balancing act between targeted sales and attaining the KPIs set by 11teamsports by implementing these two pricing strategies:

1. Margin and revenue optimization
If a product is new to the range or at the beginning of the product life cycle, the pricing strategy focuses on increasing margins and revenue. Demand-driven, the focus is on skimming off enough income and revenue to achieve the specified average target margin in the different product ranges. The result contributes in particular to the goal of 11teamsports, to remain solvent and competitive.

2. Sale optimization
The goal of the markdown pricing strategy is for products with an advanced product life cycle to reach zero inventory by a defined target date. For each individual product, the algorithm detects the extent of the demand and controls the sale via price while creating gross profit per item at the same time. The AI solution calculates the optimal pricing for each individual item, in each size, along the entire product life cycle until the defined sell-by date.
11teamsports’ category management determines which parameters are incorporated into price calculation. It also decides the range in which the prudsys RDE can calculate prices by setting variable price limits according to product age.
11teamsports uses the prices calculated by the algorithm online in its regional shops in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, at kickershop.de as well as for its bricks and mortar stores.

The result

In the A/B test the combination of margin and revenue optimization turned out to be an optimal global pricing strategy with the sell-off method. Compared to manual pricing, 11teamsports has been able to increase its margin and revenue while simultaneously increasing the order rate by 3%. Thanks to price automation, category management is left with more time for strategic price management tasks. Due to this success, 11teamsports has been relying on prudsys since 2017. The company is planning for future application scenarios for dynamic pricing.

11teamsports - Dynamic Pricing & Markdown Pricing im Onlineshop mit prudsys

Further case studies of our clients

11TEAMSPORTS verkauft Sport- und Lifestyleartikel zum besten Preis

Die KI-basierte Dynamic-Pricing-Lösung der prudsys AG sorgt für intelligente Preise im Onlineshop und in den Filialen des Sportartikelhändlers.

11teamsports - Dynamic Pricing & Markdown Pricing mit prudsys

11teamsports gehört mit über 1,5 Millionen Kunden zu den größten Händlern für Sport- und Lifestyleartikel sowie Teamausstattungen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Das Unternehmen wurde 2007 gegründet und wächst pro Jahr um etwa 20 %. Der Händler für Sportartikel bietet seine Artikel über den Onlineshop sowie in seinen 17 stationären Läden in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz an. Das Unternehmen hat eine klare Vision: es möchte seine Geschäftszahlen weiter verbessern, wettbewerbsfähig bleiben und seine Marktführerschaft festigen. Ein Mittel, um diese Ziele zu erreichen, sieht 11teamsports in der intelligenten Preissteuerung. Um seine Preisprozesse zu automatisieren und die Artikelpreise online und in der Filiale intelligent zu steuern, setzt 11teamsports nach einem erfolgreichen A/B-Test auf die prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (prudsys RDE). Die Echtzeit-Lösung basiert auf künstlicher Intelligenz und ist in der Lage, je nach der Zielstellung den Absatz, den Umsatz oder die Marge zu steigern.

HERAUSFORDERUNG

Automatisieren der Pricing-Prozesse

Größenspezifische Bepreisung

Steigern von Marge, Umsatz und Anzahl der Bestellungen

Produkte je nach Stand Produkt­lebenszyklus optimal bepreisen

LÖSUNG

prudsys RDE berechnet tagaktuell automatisiert für mehrere hundert­tausend Artikel die Preise unter Berücksichtigung vieler Parameter

Einsatz verschiedener Pricing-Verfahren: Margen- und Umsatzoptimierung sowie Abverkaufsoptimierung

Taggenaue Preise in Onlineshops und Filialen

ERGEBNIS

Automatische Preisberechnung für über 400.000 Produktvarianten

Category Management bleibt mehr Zeit für strategische Preis- und Sortimentsentscheidungen

Steigerung von Marge und Umsatz

Steigerung Anzahl der Bestellungen um 3 %

Tim Blümel, Director Sales bei 11teamsports:

„Wir realisieren mit prudsys sehr erfolgreich unser Preismanagement und haben uns für eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit entschieden. Überzeugt haben uns die Intelligenz hinter der Pricing-Lösung und die professionelle Unterstützung seitens des prudsys Projektteams.“

Das Ziel

Die komplexe Zielstellung von 11teamsports an die prudsys RDE umfasst drei Aspekte:

  • Der Sportartikelhändler möchte das Bepreisen aller Artikel intelligent steuern und dabei seine Marge, Umsatz und Anzahl der Bestellungen erhöhen.
    Das Unternehmen möchte alle 400.000 Varianten (Größen und Farben) seiner 24.000 Produkte mit unterschiedlichen Preisen versehen, was eine hohe Skalierbarkeit der Pricing-Lösung voraussetzt.
  • 11teamsports möchte das Category Management entlasten: durch das automatische Bepreisen aller Artikel bleibt mehr Zeit für strategische Artikel- und Sortimentsentscheidungen.
  • Dabei soll die KI-Lösung in der Lage sein, verschiedene Faktoren wie Nachfrage, variable Lagerbestände, Marke, Klicks pro Größe oder Ende des Lifecycles, zu berücksichtigen. Eine Pricing-Strategie, die den Abverkauf der Produkte forciert und dabei die Marge klar im Blick hat, war die Anforderung seitens 11teamsports.

Die Lösung

Die prudsys RDE passt die Preise der insgesamt 400.000 Produktvarianten tagaktuell und automatisch an alle relevanten Kontextbedingungen an. Das Echtzeittracking sorgt dafür, dass die Nachfrage auf Artikelebene erfasst und in die Preisberechnung einbezogen wird. So prognostiziert die prudsys RDE Out-of-Stock-Situationen rechtzeitig und berücksichtigt diese im Preisbildungsprozess.
Die besondere Herausforderung bei der Preisberechnung liegt im Produktlebenszyklus. Zu Beginn des Lebenszyklus optimiert die prudsys RDE die Preise primär auf Marge und Umsatz. Nähert er sich dem Ende, greift das Abverkaufsverfahren mit Fokus auf Rohertragsabschöpfung. Die Herausforderung: Manche Produkte sind nur wenige Monate im Sortiment, andere bis zu drei Jahre. Die prudsys RDE schafft den Spagat zwischen zielgerechtem Abverkauf und Erreichen der von 11teamsports gesetzten KPIs durch die Umsetzung dieser beiden Pricing-Strategien:

1. Margen- und Umsatzoptimierung
Kommt ein Produkt neu ins Sortiment oder steht am Beginn des Produktlebenszyklus, greift die Pricing-Strategie zur Margen- und Umsatzsteigerung. Der Fokus liegt darauf, nachfrageorientiert genug Ertrag und Umsatz abzuschöpfen, um die vorgegebene durchschnittliche Zielmarge in den verschiedenen Sortimentsbereichen zu erreichen. Das Ergebnis zahlt insbesondere auf das Ziel von 11teamsports ein, solvent und wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben.

2. Abverkaufsoptimierung
Beim Abverkaufsverfahren geht es darum, für Produkte mit fortgeschrittenem Produktlebenszyklus bis zu einem definierten Zieldatum den Nullbestand zu erreichen. Der Algorithmus erkennt für jedes einzelne Produkt, wie groß die Nachfrage ist, steuert über den Preis den Abverkauf und schöpft so zugleich den Rohertrag pro Artikel aus. Die KI-Lösung berechnet die optimale Preissetzung für jeden einzelnen Artikel, in jeder Größe entlang des Produktlebenszyklus bis zum definierten Abverkaufsdatum.
Das Category Management von 11teamsports bestimmt, welche Parameter in die Berechnung der Preise einfließen. Es entscheidet zudem durch das Setzen von variablen Preisgrenzen nach Produktalter, in welcher Range die prudsys RDE die Preise berechnen kann.
Die algorithmisch berechneten Preise nutzt 11team­sports online für seine Ländershops in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, auf kickershop.de sowie für seine Filialen.

Das Ergebnis

Im A/B-Test stellte sich die Kombination von Margen- und Umsatzoptimierung mit dem Abverkaufsverfahren als global optimale Pricing-Strategie heraus. Im Vergleich zur manuellen Preissetzung steigert 11teamsports seine Marge, erhöht den Umsatz und hebt zeitgleich die Bestellquote um 3 %. Dem Category Management bleibt durch das Automatisieren der Preise mehr Zeit für strategische Preismanagement-Aufgaben. Aufgrund dieses Erfolgs setzt 11teamsports seit 2017 auf prudsys. Das Unternehmen plant in Zukunft weitere Anwendungsszenarien für Dynamic Pricing.

11teamsports - Dynamic Pricing & Markdown Pricing im Onlineshop mit prudsys

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden