The right tool in real time at Westfalia

Westfalia achieved strong increase in total sales through the use of personalized product recommendations.

Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations

The Westfalia Werkzeugcompany GmbH & Co. KG is one of the most successful generalists in Germany. In addition to their comprehensive range of tools, the company sells a wide variety of technology items, household goods, health and recreational products, pet supplies and agricultural items. The company was established in 1923 in Schwerte, getting an early start as a classical catalog merchant for high-quality tools. Nowadays other customer channels such as brick and mortar retail outlets and online shops play a central role for Westfalia. The company relies on the prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (prudsys RDE for short) to help provide its customers with the perfect shopping experience and highly relevant personalized deals at every touch point and in real time. Thanks to its ease of integration, the personalization solution was effectively incorporated into all of Westfalia’s international online shops in a very short time.

prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations

The objective

Westfalia runs five successful online shops, each carrying up to 40,000 products, in five countries. In 2015 the strategic decision was made to give the topics of personalization and customer service maximum priority in order to significantly raise the service level and personalize the shopping experience for all customers. The goal was to personalize product recommendations in the online shops in real time, enabling the company to meet the current interests and needs of each individual customer at all times. This would then increase both customer satisfaction and sales.

The solution

In 2015, those responsible drafted a new personalization concept for Westfalia that was in line with the changed requirements. In addition, with the help of the Marketing Factory Consulting GmbH, the prudsys RDE was implemented in all of the mail order company’s online shops within a few weeks. The real-time analytics system is one of the most successful personalization solutions in the world. The module prudsys RDE | Recommendations collects customer behavioral data in the shop and uses it to calculate highly personal recommendations in real time. Both current behavioral data as well as historical transaction data, if available, are used. Using the prudsys RDE enables improved customer service in the online shop and taps perfectly into cross-selling potential. Especially given the great product variety at Westfalia, customers benefit from personalized recommendations at different points in the online shop.

The result

The project’s success was evident shortly after the implementation of the prudsys RDE with a significantly increased conversion rate and sales from recommendations amounting to 12 % of the total revenue. Based on the compelling results Westfalia is planning to personalize other customer interaction channels. The linking of the module prudsys RDE | Newsletter is underway so that newsletter recipients can also receive personalized content. The company would also like to carve out innovative paths in the future with personalized printed catalogs.

Marios Papadias, Head of Online Marketing/eCommerce at Westfalia, had this to say about the cooperation:

“We have been working successfully with the prudsys AG for many years. We were able to implement the new personalization concept quickly and smoothly. We are beyond satisfied with the results and look forward to the upcoming projects.”

At a glance

Objective

  • Personalized, relevant recommendations for each visitor
  • Quick implementation of the software in all of the local shops
  • Increased time spent in the online shop, increased conversion rates and sales

Solution

  • 1:1 highly-relevant personalization
  • Automated delivery of product recommendations in all online shops
  • Real-time analysis of user interests as well as inclusion of historical data for recommendation calculation

Result

  • Improved quality of recommendation
  • Implementation of consistent customer orientation
  • Significant increase in overall sales
  • 12 % sales from recommendations

Further case studies of our customers

prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Logo, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations

Das passende Werkzeug in Echtzeit bei Westfalia

Westfalia erreicht starke Steigerung des Gesamtumsatzes durch den Einsatz von personalisierten Produktempfehlungen.

Westfalia Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
Die Westfalia Werkzeugcompany GmbH & Co. KG zählt zu den erfolgreichsten Generalisten Deutschlands. Das Sortiment umfasst neben einem umfangreichen Werkzeug-Angebot zahlreiche Artikel aus den Kategorien Technik, Haushalt, Gesundheit, Freizeit, Tierbedarf und Landwirtschaft. Früh stieg das 1923 in Schwerte gegründete Unternehmen in den Versandhandel ein – ursprünglich als klassischer Katalogversender für Qualitätswerkzeug. Heute spielen weitere Kundenkanäle wie stationäre Filialen sowie Onlineshops eine zentrale Rolle für Westfalia. Um seinen Kunden an jedem Touchpoint ein optimales Einkaufserlebnis und personalisierte Angebote von höchster persönlicher Relevanz in Echtzeit zu bieten, setzt der Generalist auf die prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (kurz: prudsys RDE). Dank der einfachen Integrationsfähigkeit konnte die Personalisierungslösung in kürzester Zeit wirksam in alle internationalen Onlineshops von Westfalia eingebunden werden.
Westfalia Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine

Das Ziel

Westfalia verfügt über erfolgreiche Onlineshops in fünf Ländern, die jeweils bis zu 40.000 Produkte umfassen. Um das Service-Level deutlich anzuheben und das Einkaufserlebnis aller Kunden zu individualisieren, wurden den Themen Personalisierung und Kundenorientierung im Jahr 2015 aus strategischer Sicht höchste Priorität eingeräumt. Ziel war es, die Produktempfehlungen in den Onlineshops in Echtzeit zu personalisieren und dadurch in jedem Augenblick die aktuellen Interessen und Bedürfnisse jedes einzelnen Kunden perfekt zu bedienen. Dadurch sollte neben einer Erhöhung der Kundenzufriedenheit auch eine höhere Umsatzsteigerung erzielt werden.

Die Lösung

2015 setzten die Verantwortlichen ein neues Personalisierungskonzept für Westfalia auf, welches die veränderten Anforderungen berücksichtigt. Dazu wurde die prudsys RDE innerhalb weniger Wochen mithilfe der Marketing Factory Consulting GmbH in alle Onlineshops des Versandhauses implementiert. Das auf Echtzeit-Analyse basierende System zählt zu den weltweit erfolgreichsten Personalisierungslösungen. Das Modul prudsys RDE | Recommendations sammelt die Verhaltensdaten der Kunden im Shop und berechnet daraus in Echtzeit Empfehlungen von höchster persönlicher Relevanz. Dabei werden sowohl aktuelle Verhaltensdaten als auch, sofern vorhanden, historische Transaktionsdaten genutzt. Der Einsatz der prudsys RDE ermöglicht eine bessere Kundenberatung im Onlineshop sowie die optimale Ausschöpfung von Cross-Selling-Potenzialen. Gerade bei einer so großen Produktvielfalt wie bei Westfalia profitieren die Kunden von personalisierten Empfehlungen an unterschiedlichen Stellen im Onlineshop.

Das Ergebnis

Der Erfolg des Projekts zeigte sich bereits kurz nach der Implementierung der prudsys RDE mit einer deutlich gesteigerten Conversion Rate sowie einem Umsatz aus Empfehlungen von 12 % des Gesamterlöses. Aufgrund der überzeugenden Ergebnisse plant Westfalia nun die Personalisierung weiterer Kundeninteraktionskanäle. Aktuell erfolgt die Anbindung des Moduls prudsys RDE | Newsletter, um auch Newsletter-Empfängern individuelle Inhalte zu bieten. Außerdem möchte das Unternehmen mit personalisierten Print-Katalogen in Zukunft innovative Wege gehen.
Marios Papadias, Verantwortlicher für Online-Marketing / E-Commerce bei Westfalia, über die Zusammenarbeit:

„Seit vielen Jahren arbeiten wir mit der prudsys AG erfolgreich zusammen. Das neue Personali­sierungskonzept konnten wir sehr schnell und reibungslos umsetzen. Wir sind mehr als zufrieden mit den Ergebnissen und freuen uns auf die anstehenden, gemeinsamen Projekte.“

Auf einen Blick

Ziel

  • Individuelle, relevante Empfehlungen für jeden Besucher
  • Schnelle Implementierung der Software in alle Ländershops
  • Steigerung von Verweildauer, Conversion Rate und Umsatz im Onlineshop

Lösung

  • 1:1-Personalisierung von höchster Relevanz
  • Automatisierte Auslieferung von Produktempfehlungen in allen Onlineshops
  • Echtzeit-Analyse der Nutzerinteressen sowie Einbezug historischer Daten zur Empfehlungsberechnung

Ergebnis

  • Verbesserte Empfehlungsqualität
  • Umsetzung einer konsequenten Kundenorientierung
  • Signifikante Steigerung des Gesamtumsatzes
  • 12 % Umsatz aus Empfehlungen

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden

baby-walz Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
Westfalia Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
ePRICE Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
holyart Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine