Thalia cultivates an appetite for reading with personalized book recommendations

Realtime personalization in the online shop, newsletter, app and tolino eReader increase customer retention and sales

Produktempfehlungen im Newsletter, Thalia Newsletter mit Recommendation Engine prudsys RDE
Thalia Bücher GmbH leads the market in the German language bookselling trade, operating more than 280 bookstores in Austria, Germany and Switzerland. The collection features more than 11 million products, including a wide variety of books, audio books, CDs, DVDs, games and toys, gifts, stationery and eBooks such as the tolino eReader. Thalia is an omnichannel retailer, at home in both the real and virtual world of books. The company is constantly discovering innovative ways to retain customers. Thalia has been using the prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (prudsys RDE for short) since 2011 to develop a high-quality personalized sales approach across different channels. That makes Thalia a pioneer when it comes to personalization.
Personalisierte Produktempfehlungen im Thalia Newsletter mit Recommendation Engine prudsys RDE

The objective

Customer service is the top priority for Thalia Bücher GmbH. In order to offer its customers real added value through personalized offers, the company tested the prudsys RDE against its own software solution in 2011. The objective was to improve both sales from recommendations and customer retention. During the test, Thalia generated additional sales in the two-digit range by using the prudsys RDE. The following steps were the result: The prudsys RDE was integrated into all Thalia online shops and personalization was expanded to include other customer channels such as newsletters and subsequently also the tolino eReader.

The solution

The prudsys RDE was implemented into the German Thalia online shop in 2011. There are many different types of recommendations in the form of personalized product recommendations in use in all five Thalia Bücher GmbH online shops. The prudsys RDE personalizes all of the important pages on Thalia.de, Thalia.at, Buch.de, bol.de and orellfuessli. ch. That includes, among other things, the home page, product detail pages, interim shopping cart pages, the wish list and “no match” pages. In the “My shop” area, customers also receive personalized recommendations with their logins in real time based on user behavior. In 2015, the prudsys RDE was integrated into the Thalia newsletter in its various formats, including the new customer greeting, shopping cart interruption campaigns and weekly eBook mailings. Readers even benefit from realtime product recommendations by the prudsys RDE on Thalia’s own eReader, the tolino brand, which Thalia launched in conjunction with bookstore partners in 2013. These recommendations appear on the start screen, for example, or after the “continue reading” message upon finishing a book.

The result

Thalia successfully creates a personalized customer approach in the online shop, newsletter, tolino eReader and on app for mobile end devices. Sales from recommendations saw an above average increase in the two-digit range in all online shops thanks to the constant development of personalized areas and consistent testing. Customer response in the form of clicks on recommended products also increased continuously. Thalia continues to constantly test and optimize the latest personalization scenarios. In the future, the company would like to link the online and offline worlds more closely.

Sven Klenner, Director of Sales eCommerce and Marketing:

„We have been working with prudsys for many years and are impressed with the pruddsys RDE. The realtime algorithms used in the personalization solution ensure a high customer response. For us, an integrated, personalized customer approach across all channels is the key to successful customer retention.“

At a glance

Objective

  • Personalized shopping experience in Thalia online shops, newsletters, tolino eReader and app
  • Increase in customer response and sales from recommendations
  • Various personalization scenarios, especially in the online shop and newsletter

Solution

  • Automated generation of product recommendations in real time through various channels
  • Analysis of user behavior in real time and inclusion of historical data for appropriate recommendation calculation
  • Diverse use of personalization, e.g. in numerous different newsletter formats

Result

  • Two-digit increase in sales from recommendations
  • Increase in click rates
  • Use of different personalization scenarios automated in different channels

Further case studies of our clients

Rebuy Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
1-2-3.tv Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
biker-boarder.de Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
Sanicare Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine

Thalia macht mit individuellen Buchempfehlungen Lust aufs Lesen

Echtzeit-Personalisierung in Onlineshop, Newsletter, App und tolino
eReader steigert Kundenbindung und Umsatz

Produktempfehlungen im Newsletter, Thalia Newsletter mit Recommendation Engine prudsys RDE

Die Thalia Bücher GmbH ist Marktführer im Sortimentsbuchhandel im deutschsprachigen Raum und betreibt mehr als 280 Buchhandlungen in Österreich, Deutschland und der Schweiz. Das Sortiment umfasst mit 11 Mio. Produkten ein vielseitiges Angebot an Büchern, Hörbüchern, CDs, DVDs, Spielen und Spielwaren, Geschenkartikeln, Schreibwaren, eBooks sowie die tolino eReader. Als Omnichannel-Händler ist Thalia in der realen und virtuellen Welt der Bücher zuhause. Das Unternehmen eruiert kontinuierlich innovative Kundenbindungsmaßnahmen. Bereits seit 2011 setzt Thalia die prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (kurz: prudsys RDE) ein, um eine hochwertige personalisierte Kundenansprache über verschiedene Kanäle zu realisieren. Damit gilt Thalia als Vorreiter im Bereich Personalisierung.

Personalisierte Produktempfehlungen im Thalia Newsletter mit Recommendation Engine prudsys RDE

Das Ziel

Für die Thalia Bücher GmbH steht Kundenservice an erster Stelle. Um seinen Kunden durch personalisierte Angebote einen echten Mehrwert zu bieten, testete das Unternehmen im Jahr 2011 die prudsys RDE gegen eine eigene Softwarelösung. Ziel war die Steigerung des Umsatzes aus Empfehlungen sowie die Stärkung der Kundenbindung. Bei dem Test generierte Thalia durch den Einsatz der prudsys RDE einen Mehrumsatz im zweistelligen Bereich. Daraus ergaben sich die nächsten Schritte: Die Integration der prudsys RDE in alle Thalia-Onlineshops sowie der Ausbau von Personalisierung auf weitere Kundenkanäle wie Newsletter und später auch den tolino eReader.

Die Lösung

Im Jahr 2011 erfolgte die Implementierung der prudsys RDE in den deutschen Thalia-Onlineshop. Mittlerweile finden viele verschiedene Empfehlungstypen in Form von personalisierten Produktempfehlungen in allen fünf Onlineshops der Thalia Bücher GmbH Anwendung. Auf Thalia.de, Thalia.at, Buch.de, bol.de und orellfuessli.ch personalisiert die prudsys RDE alle wichtigen Seiten. Dazu gehören u.a. die Startseite, die Produktdetailseite, die Warenkorbzwischenseite, die Merkliste oder die Nulltrefferseite. Im „Mein Shop-Bereich“ erhält der Kunde zudem mit seinem Login sehr präsent individuelle Empfehlungen in Echtzeit auf Basis seines Nutzerverhaltens. Im Jahr 2015 erfolgte die Integration der prudsys RDE in den Thalia-Newsletter mit seinen unterschiedlichen Formaten, wie z.B. die Neukunden-Begrüßung, Warenkorb-Abbrecher-Kampagnen oder wöchentliche eBook-Mailings. Auch auf den eigenen eReadern der Marke tolino, die Thalia im März 2013 gemeinsam mit Buchhandelspartnern gelauncht hat, profitieren Leser von Echtzeit-Produktempfehlungen durch die prudsys RDE, z.B. auf dem Startbildschirm oder nach dem Hinweis „gleich weiterlesen“ nach dem Beenden eines Buches.

Das Ergebnis

Thalia realisiert in Onlineshop, Newsletter, tolino eReader und der App für mobile Endgeräte erfolgreich eine personalisierte Kundenansprache. Der Umsatz aus Empfehlungen stieg durch den stetigen Ausbau personalisierter Flächen und konsequentes Testen überdurchschnittlich im zweistelligen Bereich in allen Onlineshops. Die Kundenresonanz in Form von Klicks auf empfohlene Produkte stieg ebenfalls kontinuierlich. Thalia testet und optimiert weiterhin stetig die neuesten Personalisierungsszenarien. In Zukunft möchte das Unternehmen die Online- und Offlinewelt stärker verknüpfen.

Sven Klenner, Director of Sales eCommerce and Marketing:

„Wir arbeiten seit vielen Jahren mit prudsys zusammen und sind von der prudsys RDE überzeugt. Die Echtzeit-Algorithmen der Personalisierungslösung sorgen für eine hohe Resonanz bei unseren Kunden. Eine ganzheitliche, individuelle Kundenansprache über alle Kanäle ist für uns der Schlüssel für eine erfolgreiche Kundenbindung.“

Auf einen Blick

Ziel

  • personalisiertes Einkaufserlebnis in Thalia-Onlineshops, Newsletter, tolino eReader und App
  • Steigerung der Kundenresonanz und des Umsatzes aus Empfehlungen
  • vielseitige Personalisierungsszenarien, insbesondere im Onlineshop und Newsletter

Lösung

  • Automatisierte Ausspielung von Produktempfehlungen in Echtzeit auf den verschiedenen Kanälen
  • Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens in Echtzeit sowie Einbezug historischer Daten für eine passende Empfehlungsberechnung
  • Vielseitige Verwendung von Personalisierung, z.B. in zahlreichen unterschiedlichen Newsletter-Formaten

Ergebnis

  • Steigerung des Umsatzes aus Empfehlungen im zweistelligen Bereich
  • Steigerung der Klickraten
  • Umsetzung verschiedener Personalisierungsszenarien automatisiert in unterschiedlichen Channels

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden

Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Westfalia Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
holyart Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
nu3 Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine