Personalized search and sales approach at C.H. Beck

Increase in sales by 100 % at the online bookshop C.H. Beck.

Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations

With more than 4 million available book titles, journals, serial publications and online databases, beck-shop.de is one of the most distinguished online specialized bookstores in Germany and stands in the professional book tradition of the Verlag C.H.BECK, one of Germany’s largest publishers of books and magazines. The Munich-based company founded in 1763 looks back not only on 250 years of company history steeped in tradition but also relies on innovative business models and technologies to best meet the needs of specialized book customers. It was recently awarded the coveted 1st place as customer champion 2014, confirming the extremely high service level of this specialized media shop.

prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations

The objective

An extensive range of products such as the one offered by specialized bookstore beck-shop.de places high demands on customer service. Amidst the wealth of products, it is the publisher’s goal to serve customers even better and use cross-selling potential even more effectively. To achieve this goal, the publishing house is implementing a business solution that generates personalized content in the shop in real time. The goal was to fully implement recommendation marketing in the online shop. In the process, it was important to concentrate on the real-time focusing aspect of the software. The personalization solution should be able to constantly interact with the user, gauge the user’s reaction to the content and relate this to the behavior of all other users to achieve a high quality recommendation.

The solution

On a daily basis the prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine (prudsys RDE for short) offers customers in 34 countries a very special shopping experience with around 1 billion personalized recommendations in over 200 online shops. Intelligent analysis of buying habits and click patterns mean that customers and shop visitors are shown content with a high degree of personal relevance and guided towards the areas which really interest them.
By implementing the prudsys RDE in the shop at www.beck-shop.de, customers are shown personalized content at different points of the order and purchase process. With the use of the modules prudsys RDE | Recommendations and prudsys RDE | Search, for example on the category overview and product detail pages as well as part of the search results, products are recommended that actually correspond to the visitor’s interests. Previously, only non-personalized recommendations were displayed for visitors and customers. In other words, they only saw products that other customers had bought together with the respective product. Now with the prudsys RDE it is possible to significantly increase recommendation quality based on customer search, click and purchase patterns. The system then automatically determines meaningful product combinations based on current clicks, related products and the evaluation of historical purchase data and generates them as purchase recommendations at different points in the order and purchase process. The self-learning prudsys RDE determines customer reaction to the recommended products in real time and modifies the quality of its own recommendations based on those reactions.
To lead customers more quickly and effectively to the product they are searching for, the module prudsys RDE | Search was integrated in addition to the module prudsys RDE | Recommendations. The search consists of a combination of classic search functionality and high-performance processes for personalized search results such as the ones used for personalized product recommendations. The search results are then tailored to the appropriate user profile based on the transaction and generated based on sales.

The result

By using the prudsys RDE in the online shop, Verlag C.H.Beck benefits from a strategic, personalized sales approach. Generating personalized recommendations has resulted in a demonstrable rise in customer satisfaction and increased sales in the online shop. Thanks to the use of the module prudsys RDE | Recommendations, sales from recommendations increased by 100 % compared to previously generated, non-personalized recommendations. And by generating personalized list of results, the conversion rate via search increased by 2 0%.

At a glance

Objective

  • Increase cross-selling
  • Optimal customer service
  • Increase sales

Solution

  • Implementation of a consistent, customer-oriented policy
  • Top quality recommendations for extensive product ranges
  • Customers benefit from a personalized search function
  • High-value recommendations even for small shopping baskets, in long tail and for new products or content

Result

  • Increased cross-selling and customer satisfaction
  • 100 % increase in sales from recommendations
  • 20 % increase in conversion rate via search

Further case studies of our customers

prudsys RDE, Logo, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Logo, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations

Personalisierte Suche und individuelle Empfehlungen bei C.H. Beck

Steigerung des Umsatzes aus Empfehlungen um 100 % bei der Online-Fachbuchhandlung C.H. Beck.

Fachbuchhandlung Beck Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
Mit mehr als 4 Millionen lieferbaren Buchtiteln, Fachzeitschriften, Fortsetzungswerken und Online-Datenbanken gehört beck-shop.de zu den profiliertesten Online-Fachbuchhandlungen Deutschlands und steht in der professionellen Fachbuchtradition des Verlags C.H.BECK, der zu den größten Buch- und Zeitschriftenverlagen in Deutschland zählt. Das in München ansässige und im Jahr 1763 gegründete Unternehmen blickt nicht nur auf über 250 Jahre traditionsreiche Firmengeschichte zurück, es setzt zudem auf innovative Geschäftsmodelle und Technologien, um die Bedürfnisse von Fachbuchkunden bestmöglich zu bedienen. Der frisch verliehene 1. Platz bei der renommierten Auszeichnung zum Kundenchampion 2014 bestätigt das sehr hohe Serviceniveau dieses Fachmedien-Shops.
Fachbuchhandlung Beck Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine

Das Ziel

Ein derart umfangreiches Sortiment, wie es die Fachbuchhandlung beck-shop.de in ihrem Shop anbietet, stellt hohe Anforderungen an die Kundenberatung. Ziel des Verlages ist es, seine Kunden perfekt zu beraten und Cross-Selling-Potentiale effektiver zu nutzen – gerade vor dem Hintergrund des umfangreichen Sortiments. Um das zu erreichen, setzte der Verlag auf die Implementierung einer Business-Lösung, die in Echtzeit personalisierte Inhalte im Shop ausspielt. Ziel war es, ein ganzheitliches Empfehlungs-Marketing im Onlineshop umzusetzen. Ein wichtiger Punkt war hierbei die Echtzeit-Fokussierung der Software. Die Personalisierungslösung sollte in der Lage sein, ständig mit dem User zu interagieren, seine Reaktion auf die Inhalte zu erfassen und diese in Beziehung zum Verhalten aller anderen User zu setzen, um eine hohe Empfehlungsqualität zu erreichen.

Die Lösung

Die prudsys Realtime Decisioning Engine bietet mit täglich rund einer Milliarde personalisierter Empfehlungen Kunden in 34 Ländern und über 200 Onlineshops das ganz besondere Einkaufserlebnis. Basierend auf einer intelligenten Analyse des Kauf- sowie Klickverhaltens bekommt der Kunde bzw. Shop-Besucher Inhalte von hoher persönlicher Relevanz angezeigt und wird gezielt zu den Bereichen geführt, die ihn wirklich interessieren. Durch die Implementierung der prudsys RDE in den Shop unter www.beck-shop.de weden dem Kunden an unterschiedlichen Stellen des Bestell- und Kaufprozesses personalisierte Inhalte angezeigt. Mit dem Einsatz der Module prudsys RDE | Recommendations und prudsys RDE | Search werden z.B. auf den Kategorie übersichts- und Produktdetailseiten sowie im Rahmen der Suchergebnisse Produkte empfohlen, die dem Kaufinteresse des Besuchers tatsächlich entsprechen. Bislang erhielt der Besucher bzw. Kunde ausschließlich unpersonalisierte Empfehlungen, d.h. Produkte, die auch andere Kunden zusammen mit dem jeweiligen Produkt kauften. Durch die prudsys RDE ist es nun möglich, basierend auf dem Such-, Klick- und Kaufverhalten des Kunden die Empfehlungsqualität signifikant zu steigern. Dazu ermittelt das System selbstständig sinnvolle Produktkombinationen und spielt diese an verschiedenen Stellen des Bestell- und Kaufprozesses als Kaufempfehlung aus. Dies geschieht basierend auf den aktuellen Klicks, den Produktbeziehungen und der Auswertung historischer Kaufdaten. In Echtzeit erfasst die selbstlernende prudsys RDE die Reaktion des Kunden auf die empfohlenen Produkte und modifiziert darauf basierend die Qualität der eigenen Empfehlungen. Um den Kunden schneller und noch effektiver zum gesuchten Produkt zu führen, wurde zusätzlich zum Modul prudsys RDE | Recommendations das Modul prudsys RDE | Search integriert. Dies besteht aus einer Kombination klassischer Such-Funktionalitäten mit Hochleistungsverfahren für personalisierte Suchergebnisse, wie sie auch bei personalisierten Produktempfehlungen eingesetzt werden. Die Suchergebnisse werden dabei transaktionsbasiert auf das entsprechende Besucherprofil zugeschnitten und umsatzorientiert ausgespielt.

Das Ergebnis

Mit dem Einsatz der prudsys RDE innerhalb des Onlineshops profitiert der Verlag C.H.Beck von einer gezielten, personalisierten Kundenansprache. Mit der Ausspielung personalisierter Empfehlungen konnte das Unternehmen nachweislich eine Steigerung der Kundenzufriedenheit sowie des Umsatzes im Onlineshop erzielen. Der Umsatz aus Empfehlungen konnte durch das Modul prudsys RDE | Recommendations um 100 % gegenüber den bisher ausgespielten, unpersonalisierten Empfehlungen gesteigert werden. Durch die Ausspielung personalisierter Ergebnislisten konnte die Conversion Rate über die Suche um 20 % gesteigert werden.

Auf einen Blick

Ziel

  • Steigerung der Cross-Selling-Potentiale
  • Optimale Kundenberatung
  • Umsatzsteigerung

Lösung

  • Umsetzung einer konsequenten Kundenorientierung
  • Empfehlungen höchster Qualität für umfangreiche Produktsortimente
  • Kunden profitieren von einer personalisierten Suchfunktion
  • Hochwertige Empfehlungen auch bei kleinen Warenkörben, im Longtail und für neue Produkte bzw. Inhalte

Ergebnis

  • Steigerung Cross-Selling und Kundenzufriedenheit
  • Steigerung Umsatz aus Empfehlungen um 100 %
  • Steigerung Conversion Rate über die Suche um 20 %

Weitere Erfolgsgeschichten unserer Kunden

Logo, prudsys RDE, Omnichannel, Handel, E-Commerce, Realtime, Echtzeit, Personalisierung, Personalization, Recommendations
Sanicare Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
1-2-3.tv Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine
baby-walz Onlineshop mit Recommendations mit der prudsys RDE Recommendation Engine